First Earthquake

Well yesterday was the first earthquake of my stay in Japan, and I say first because we know that in Japan we are destined to feel many many of those.

It was at night, at around 11:00 pm, I do not know why I was awake since my bedtime is like 9:00 pm 😄

Suddenly, a quick vibration shook my apartment. It lasted only a few seconds. I did not know if it was my imagination, or if I had trembled, until my cell phone started ringing with multiple messages from my friends asking if we were all safe. The report: 5.0 earthquake on the Richter scale with location of the epicenter in Fukui, about 100km away from Kyoto. We all survived 😛

Having lived almost 3 years in Tlatelolco, in Mexico City, where every day it was normal to confuse an earthquake of 5.0 on the Richter scale with the vibrations caused by the big trucks that passed by, this was children’s play for me. But it made me realize that many of my classmates had never experienced an earthquake in their lives and panicked. Awwww.

Please never let it go beyond 5.5 T___T

One comment

Leave a Reply

