Japanese Government Scholarship (Monbukagakusho)

I know thst there are multiple blogs and materials out there that talk about the process to apply for the Japanese Government Scholarship Monbukagakusho. However, I wanted to share my own story. Be aware though, that this is all from the perspective of the process done in Mexico, which differs from other countries in that the Local Goverment has a preselection of candidates that the embassy can screen. Other than that, the process is pretty similar all around the world and only has sublte changes depending on the embassy’s preferences for submission.

This is the third year, and the last one, that I will apply for the postgraduate studies in Japan.

The two previous years I did not even make it past the Local Government preselection. Frustration, sadness and helplessness are just some of the multiple feelings of those times, and I still hold to them dearly. Not because I like them, but because they have help me grow and be more objective with myself.

This year will be different.

In 2014 and 2015 I had all my hope and future centered in Japan. This year, I have a plan B, that although it doesn’t excite me as much as the thought of going to Japan, I will not have that feeling of devastation and nowhere to go if I am again not selected this year.

The excitement that I feel this year is different, and I think that having a Plan B has been the secret.

In Mexico the application period generally goes from April to June, and I expect this year to be the same, so I will start preparing.

Leave a Reply

